Newbie Business Dilemma!

edd90

Hello people of the forum!

I have a bit of a dilemma (not neccesarily a bad one!) and i was hoping i could get your professional expert help :) !!! I may go on a bit but please bare with me!

I currently have a good packaging design job (4 years) - Pay is okay but could be better!
* I have a Degree in Product Design.
* Im Good at 3D visualisation and modeling in MAYA (Maya Rocks ;) !!!) 2+years = with official training.
* I am learning Web Design at a very quick pace - Really getting to grips with it! I LOVE IT! Completed 2 sites and have 4 more in pipeline (real ones as well)!

My dream is to have my Own creative design agency! An opportunity has arisen which im trying to mull over-

My mate has offered to go into business with me as a partner in my Creative Design Agency. He's an accountant (handy) and has good sales skills - meets with big companies and new companies regularly through his job. He will not be doing the creative part -thats me!
We will start the business on a part time basis as well as continuing our full time jobs (so no real money worry issues). We will concentrate on doing websites and Logo design first (he already has 2 websites for when we start) - We will concentrate on this area to build up the company profile as a starting point. THATS THE PLAN!

My worries are -

* Do i go into business with a Friend?
* With only 6 months web experience is it wise to go into business now? (i am fairly confident but realistic at the same time)
* Should i go Freelance for a year and learn the industry?? (my mates impatient! and 2 well paid jobs could be lost if we dont start within 4 months)
* How easy will it be to get freelance work?
* What should the business percentage split be?

So what would you do in my situation? What are your experiences? Am i missing other important areas to consider?

Any advice would be SOOOOOO Helpful!

Edd.:)

ian

Administrator
Staff member