What would you design for $500?

notarypublic

How much of a value/How much time would you spend on a website for $500? I'm considering offering a flat rate for projects within a certain size, in order to appeal to local small businesses.

What I'm considering offering:
3 to 6 static pages
Basic SEO
Custom layout
Image optimization/Basic copyrighting
Set them up with 3rd party hosting, email, etc
Free 1 month support

Logo design is something I enjoy, but I'm not a graphic designer by any means - I would only charge $50 to $75 for that, tops. Any web advertising would be added to the budget and I might charge a small premium to put ads out for them.

How much time would it take you to do all of the above? Think that's worth the price?

notarypublic

For reference, where I work now I am paid as the department web designer. I just got asked to work on this site and redesign it. I would personally consider a site of this size to be within the $500 range.

DHDdirect

Yeah I think that sounds about right. Make sure you write out in your proposals the details of work covered for that price so they know when the design ends and it doesn't stray from it's original agreement. Also detail what services the support covers etc.

I include a statement in my proposals that any alterations or additions may result in extra charges. Also that the proposal is only valid for a couple weeks so they don't come back in a year wanting you to honor a year old proposal.

Good luck