What to buy or avoid for a newbie

riley454

Hey guys,

I've found a potentially profitable market segment in my area of work that seriously needs some help with their crappy sites that were developed by amateurs years ago. By current standards they are unattractive, unhelpful(as far prospective clients would see) and very hard to navigate. A totally unpleasant and potentially(if not already) client losing environment.

I have no qualified computer expertise, much the same as the market that I feel needs a lot of help, but I am very much an above competent user of most MS programs and also AutoCad. Self-taught through trial and error and useful help files or manuals.

By no means am I going to(at this stage) make web design my sole form of income, but I have no doubt that I can make a handy supplemental income by helping some of those who have paid someone to design a crap web presence several years ago, and now need to update and make that presence more enticing.

With all that in mind, what is the best product to purchase?

So far as I can establish, Dreamweaver and Frontpage are the favoured products. Am I better off self-learning a potentially non-upgradeable Frontpage, or attempting the currently available and upgradeable Dreamweaver? Or should I grit my teeth and be a guineapig with the replacement MS products? I've always found MS products fairly easy to learn, through their back-up help options, but have no experience with Adobe.

What do you guys recommend for a (quick) self-learner who is looking to make a few dollars out of a part-time hobby in web design?

Any advice is appreciated

zkiller

Super Moderator
Staff member
i would suggest staying away from front page. in the past it has been known for very bad code and also, microsoft generally doesn't seem to have an interest in W3C standards.