Web page using Laravel and code ownership ??

stever2013

Hello all.
I am looking for any kind of advice here, i am a total newbie and have no knowledge.
I hope some of this makes sense as i do not know the correct terminology to use.
I am having someone design/build some pages for me using Laravel.
I have paid them a very small amount and now its at the stage to make another very small payment for them to create the payment gateway.
I have said from the beginning that i only want a basic mock up design/build for me to trial as admin and a user to see if i want to take the project further and make revisions/changes etc.
I have no idea how in fact i would eventually take control/ownership of the website/pages.
He has explained about him using a developer pay pal to test the payment gateway and then on completion he can then add my pay pal details and then we do a test to confirm i receive payment.
I think this sounds ok but then i asked him how i take control/ownership and run the site/pages as admin, he then started asking me to make suggestions for amounts regarding the code, so i have read that as a developer he owns the code, he has said that he thinks my idea/site is quite niche and could do well, obviously this is subjective, so i would like to know if i was to pay him an agreed price and i take ownership/control, does that mean i own the code ? my thoughts are not as he still knows the code.
My understanding is that i would need to give him the domain name for a transfer for him to make the site live, is that correct ? its a Go daddy domain.
Also if all of the above happened and he owns the code, can i then ask another developer to make changes et in the future, using Laravel i suppose or does he have like a lock on his code or something to prevent this.
Sorry to be a total dumb ass here.
Many Thanks in advance for any replies, feedback or advice.

callmestarfire

No worries, we all start somewhere! It's important to understand what you're getting into;)