my first attempt at a website

Gizo

I am teaching myself how to design and build websites using a couple of books and lots of web tutorials. this is my first attempt it does not have any flash or java, it is for the Caravan park I am the manager of, our current website is looking pretty dated and the web designer who built it does not impress me with his work, so I thought I would have a go myself.
I do not have this site published yet so I have a jpeg.

Attachments

• mockup.jpg
    mockup.jpg
    89.1 KB · Views: 57

DHDdirect

Hello Gizo

It's not too bad for a start. Ron made some suggestions on your other post to spruce it up a bit which I would agree with.

If I was to make other suggestions for your business is to have a park layout and detail any and all features of your park such as hook-ups, dumps, tv, internet, dog friendly, groceries, repair items etc. Even if you don't think it's important to mention it may be important to someone else

Also hours of operation and when are good times to call if it's different then operating hours.

When my wife and I was travelling around it was a necessity to know certain things when we were looking for a place to stay. Remember with any website content is key. The more relative content you put on your site the better.

* it also wouldn't be a bad idea to list whats in the nearest town/s.. grocery stores, mechanics, auto parts, restaurants etc

** there is just too much to mention :) then after you get your site squared away, get listed on google places and take advantage of other google services such as google analytics, and google webmaster tools. All of which are free services.

Last edited:

notarypublic

For a first attempt this is very impressive, but here are a few critique points:

* Consider left-aligning navigation bar, main content text: Generally speaking, left-aligned text is easier to read and looks more professional.